Chicken Caesar Salad Days

Standard

So today I am asked: Is there a period in your own personal life that you think of as the good old days? Tell us a story about those innocent and/or exciting times (or lack thereof).

The good old days….its something I feel is often said while taking a swig from a beer and flicking out the ever growing ashes from a cigarette. It makes me feel old to think back to the times where I meet my friends and played cards until the sun fell, but noticing now that those times were over a decade ago, that those really were the good old days. I don’t believe it has much to do with innocence (we we’rent the most innocent kids on the block) but rather having worry free days. Not having a care in the world, those are the good old days. It’s the days spent sitting infront of the TV at Abuela’s house. I didn’t have a clue as to what time it was, and I didn’t care. All that mattered was that “Hey Arnold” comes on at 3, followed by “Are You Afraid of The Dark”, which not a chance in hell I’d be watching, and this gave me enough time to sprint outside, dollar in-hand, to the ice cream truck where my only worry was if ninja turtles ice cream bar had both gumball eyes in his sockets. As I grow older and more into adulthood, I’ve become more apprehensive and worried about what is happening around me. Things from work, to holidays and the occasional family gathering, all have to gather within the 30 to 31 days (lets not even define February) each and every month and before you know it, “Hey Arnold” stopped airing on TV, ice cream trucks are extinct, and it’s time to hit the sack before the sun comes up tomorrow. As a kid I fought the sun and never wished it to go down, now I find myself losing the battle and having it wake me up every morning.

Salad Days

One thought on “Chicken Caesar Salad Days

Leave a Reply

